Hugging my kids tighter

I’m going to rip off somone els’e post today. I’ve always liked studying economics, and loved the book Freakonomics, which applied economics to current, real-world problems, looking at the way people respond to incentives, and the outcomes which ensue.

I regularly read the Freakonomics blog, and am a big fan of Steve Levitt, one of the book authors. I found today’s blog entry so moving, as were the reader comments that follow. It puts things in perspective, and it certainly made me hug my kids harder, even after David cried for 20 minutes because he wanted noodles and toast for dinner, and not the “spiny” food (pasta and fresh bread) that I made for dinner.  And when Margaret wouldn’t go to bed…again.  I love them with all my heart, and I thank God for all them every day.

http://freakonomics.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/10/14/my-son-andrew-would-have-turned-10-today/

Leave a comment

Filed under Family

Leave a Reply

