A crock of *******

I’ll be honest.  I have a love/hate relationship with my crock pot.  I love knowing that dinner will be ready when I get home, and I don’t have to do anything.  But I struggle to find recipes that my family likes.  They don’t like roasts (Tim calls them “big hunks of meat”), and so many things I’ve tried come out mushy.  So here are some roast/big hunk of meat recipes that I love, and for which I’ve gotten compliments from other people, even though Tim and Emma don’t love them…and some recipes for things that are meant to be mushy, so they’re fine in the crock pot. 

1. chicken-chili

2. taco-soup

3. slow-cooker-barbecued-ribs

4. Turkey Chili http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Simple-Turkey-Chili/Detail.aspx

5. Pot roast pot-roast

6. Jambalaya jambalaya

7. Beef stew beef-stew

8. Chicken and dumplings http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Slow-Cooker-Chicken-and-Dumplings/Detail.aspx

9. Ham, beans and potatoes. This one’s easy (and really tasty. My mom always used to make it.) Put a big hunk of ham in the crock pot.  Cut 2 potatoes into quarters and add to the crock pot. Drain a can of green beans and add the beans to the cooker.  Add some wedges of green cabbage. Add some water.  Cook on low for 8 hours. Yum…just like Mom used to make.

10. And for something completely different, my friend and colleague, Liz, told me about crock pot cake. Haven’t tried it yet, but Liz recommends it http://www.realsimple.com/realsimple/content/0,21770,1087160,00.html

Please feel free to add other recipes you like in the comments section.

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking

One response to “A crock of *******

  1. thanks for the crock pot ideas, especially the jambalaya. we just made a jambalaya for a recent dinner party (almost identical ingredients to those on your recipe) and it was DEE-licious. and the shopping for the ingredients was even more fun, starting with a wholesale fishery (isaacson & stein just off halsted) and then to gepherts (sp?) on halsted for really good cajun andouille sausauge, followed up by fresh veggies from the farmers market. now i gotta try the jambalaya in a crock pot. thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

