I will love you no matter what

Today I’m posting an audio story that I heard on a Web site called “The Moth”, a storytelling Web site. (“Storytelling” is a commonly heard buzzword in marketing these days, and someone recommended this site to me at a conference.)

I first listened to this story several months ago, and it has come back to haunt me many times since. I’ve been thinking about it a lot in the past week, since Proposition 8 was passed in California.  The story is well-written and well-delivered by its author, Jeffery Rudell, and it would be enjoyable to listen to if it weren’t so heart-breaking. It makes me want to hug my children and promise them that I will love them no matter what.

It’s about 10 minutes long, but I encourage you to listen to it, because it is so moving.  I can’t figure out how to link directly to the recording, so I’m linking to the main page of the site. Click on Jeffery Rudell, “Under the Influence.” 

http://www.themoth.org/listen

Let me know if you find it as moving as I did.

2 Comments

Filed under Current Events

2 responses to “I will love you no matter what

  1. Diane

    While Jeffery’s story seems extreme, I fear that there are thousands of Jefferys out there who have suffered this same enigmatic response, prehaps to a slightly lesser extent. It is tragic, heartbreaking and truly inexplicable. How does one cut a child out of their life so completely and so abruptly. Cannot fathom. . . . xox Diane

  2. Deborah Maue

    I agree…I just can’t understand how a parent could do it. It breaks my heart to think about it. Thanks for listening to the story, and thanks for commenting. xo back (and congrats on being the parent of New York’s newest lawyer. She’s amazing and we all love her very much.)

Leave a Reply

