Fun facts about me

I saw a blog post entry yesterday in which the author listed “little-known” facts about himself.  In the spirit of ripping off other people’s ideas, I thought I’d do the same. Here are a few things you may not know:

1) I can touch my nose with my tongue.  The question people usually ask when I tell them this is, “How did you find out you could do that?” The answer is that my mother can do it (and demonstrates it upon request), so it was sort of a family challenge. (I’m proud to say that I’m the only one of us kids who can do it. This makes my mother very proud of me.)

2) I could tie my shoes before I was two.  You have to understand that I was the youngest of four, with 9 years between me and my next oldest sibling, and 13 years between me and the oldest.  Said another way, I was kind of like a pet trained by my siblings to do tricks. (I could also wink before I was a year old, and “freeze” on command, which is a difficult trick to describe but drove my mother nuts when my siblings made me do it.) My children are completely non-plussed when I tell them I could do this, as their shoes have Velcro, so it’s irrelevant.

3) The first song I learned to sing was “Show Me the Way to Go Home”, taught to me by my dad.  The second song was “My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean”. (When I was older, he taught me some really nasty alternative words to this latter song, which involve tuberculosis, and which always send Emma into fits of laughter.)

4) My first job (other than babysitting) was working at the Wendy’s in Shamokin.  I lasted six weeks, until I was a victim of sexual harassment by the 20-year-old assistant manager, who was a moron and a jerk. I didn’t realize that it was sexual harassment at the time, but at least I had enough smarts to get my butt out of there.  I imagine that the assistant manager went on to a long, fulfilling career as a used car salesman or Wal-mart manager (not that I have anything against either of those professions.)

5) My favorite color is blue. (I’m not sure why that’s important, but it seems to be something that is important to people.)

6) I am a descendant of Amos Gager Throop, for whom Throop Street in Chicago is named. (There is dissention in the family over whether Throop is prounounced with a hard “T”, or a “Th” sound. My mother and her siblings pronounce it with a hard “T”, but I have first cousins who pronouce it the other way. Yeah blah blah blah, get to the point. ) Anyway, family lore has it that Amos Gager Throop was the one who let the prisoners out of the city jail during the Great Chicago Fire, thereby saving them from the fire. 

7) My most interesting family story is that my mother’s uncle Walter was sent to the store by his mother to get a gallon of milk, and didn’t come home for 26 years.  (This kind of story would only come from my mother’s side of the family.)

8) I’ve been thrown out of a bar for fighting. It happened when I was in grad school, and way old enough to know better. It was after a Cubs game. Enough said.

(BTW, I have no idea why, when I make lists like this, the “8” always shows up as a smiley-face. I don’t do this on purpose.  It’s some random WordPress thing, maybe done to encourage people not to list more than 7 things.)

9) My dream job would be playing the strong bass with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Unfortunately, I had neither the talent nor the dedication required to make it the the upper echelon of string bass players, so I went into marketing instead.

10) My only C in college was in Calculus. I just couldn’t understand why you would ever want to know the area under a curve. (Until I took economics.)

And that’s about the extent of the little-known facts about moi!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family

Leave a Reply

