Saturday odds and ends

1. I just came back from singing at the funeral of Oliver Atkin.  Oliver was a frequent visitor and guest organist at St. Christopher’s and a person you never forget.  I was very fond of him.  He had a pretty remarkable life, including a stint in British government service as a Nazi code-breaker in WWII.  Here’s his obituary from the Tribune: http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/local/chi-hed-atkin-d-31dec31,0,6374248.story

2. I didn’t see this inspiring video until after my duet with Carolyn, but it certainly is something to strive for (thanks to my friend Jon for sending me this):

3. Another great John Kass column on the whole Blagojevich/Burris circus: http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/columnists/chi-kass-burris-04-jan04,0,4054304.column

4. I will be so happy when the digital TV switch happens, so I no longer have to hear about it on every newscast. Can there possibly be anyone in the U.S. who hasn’t heard about it yet? If so, it’s probably someone who will actually be affected. Just a hunch.

That’s all for today, folks.  Slow news day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Current Events

Leave a Reply

