Angels and shepherds and kings

Today was the annual Epiphany pageant at St. Christophers.  There is no service which better illustrates the “sacred chaos” of St. C.’s.  Despite several hours of rehearsal, most participants aren’t exactly sure what they’re supposed to be doing.  Children (usually mine) walk randomly across the altar at inopportune moments.  We sing lots of Christmas carols (and unusual for us, we only sing 1-2 verses of each one.  I didn’t even know that was allowed.)  The church is always packed, as grandparents, aunts, uncles and neighbors come to see the little ones perform.  It is wonderful and funny and magical, and brings the Christmas season to a joyful close.  It makes me realize, as nothing else does, why we go through all of the hoopla of Christmas. 

epiphany-pageant-006

epiphany-pageant-0031

The high point for me this year was 5 year-old Evelyn winking through her whole performance as the “Head Angel”.  As if she was letting us in on her secret. 

David was the lead wise man, and did an earnest, diligent, serious job (not surprisingly).  Barbara, the “choreographer”, wanted him to be Joseph, but I vetoed it, as I thought it was a Very Bad Idea. Maybe next year. He looked quite regal, I must say:

epiphany-pageant-011

epiphany-pageant-012

Margaret was supposed to be an angel, but backed out at the last minute.  She looked really cute with her halo and wings, but of course, I didn’t get a picture of it, only these:

epiphany-pageant-014

epiphany-pageant-015

I don’t know…I always thought Lessons and Carols was my favorite service, but I might be wrong…

2 Comments

Filed under Gratitude, Music, On Being Episcopalian

2 responses to “Angels and shepherds and kings

  1. Paris

    Love your post and promise not tell the choirmaster that you might prefer the holy chaos of Epipahny to the sacred beauty of Lessons & Carols.

  2. Deborah Maue

    Actually, I love them equally, but in very different ways. (But I still appreciate you not telling the choirmaster.)

Leave a Reply

