The easiest, fastest, best chicken recipe ever

Yes, really, I promise you it is.  The whole family loves it.

I found this recipe about 7 years ago in the New York Times Magazine, and it is my family’s favorite chicken recipe ever.  You make a sauce with low -fat sour cream, low-fat mayonnaise, lemon juice, chutney, and curry and pour it over chicken and bake. These happen to be ingredients I always have on-hand, so I can decide to make it at the last minute. The sauce is delicious, and the chicken stays really moist. (I prepared it this morning, and my family was so happy to see anything other than the crock pot it.)

Now I know that some of you are thinking, “I don’t like curry. I think I’ll make it without it.” (I know this because I can see you sneering.) I assure you that I don’t like curry either (nor does Emma), but I love it in this recipe, and I would encourage you to try it, because I don’t think it would taste the same without it.

Chicken Breasts with Chutney/Curry Sauce

4-5 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1/2 cup low-fat mayonnaise

1/2 cup low-fat sour cream

2 Tbsp. Major Grey’s chutney (in my supermarket, it’s with the mustard and ketchup, not the jelly)

1 tsp. curry powder

Juice of 1 lemon

Lay the chicken breasts flat in a baking dish. Combine all other ingredients and pour over the chicken.  Bake in a  hot (450 degree) oven until done. (Depending on the number and size of chicken breasts, it’s usually 30-40 minutes.) I serve it with buttered egg noodles to soak up the sauce, but you could also serve it with bread, or rice, or any other carb that will soak it up.  Serve with a brightly-colored vegetable like carrots or broccoli, because if you serve it with something like cauliflower, everything on the plate will be white. (Note: I have nothing against cauliflower.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking

Leave a Reply

