I <3 Paris

But of course, I have a few suggestions to make it even better:

1. “To go” cups. I like to take my coffee with me. The only place to get a coffee to go is at Starbucks, and they are few and far between.

2.  Faster service. I realize that we are way too fast-paced here in America. Like with eating.  But there are times when slow isn’t charming – like when I’m standing in line for the cash register.  The cash register attendants in France are sloooowwww.

3. A law which requires people to clean up after their dogs. I don’t think that requires any further explanation.

4. Stores open in the evenings. Everything seems to close at 6:00.  (I suppose there is some charm in this, but with little free time, except in the evenings, it was a drag.)

Of course, there are a few things that are definitely better in France:

1. Dollar coins (and two dollarcoins). Love them. 

2. Great public transportation – You’re always a few blocks from a Metro station. You can get anywhere by train, and we rarely waited more than 5 minutes for a train. (Except when the workers go on strike, which apparently they do frequently, but fortunately, it didn’t happen while we were there.)

3. Farmers’ Market every day. Always in a different place, of course.  But fresh fruit, vegetables, fish, meat, and cheese every day. Makes my mouth water to think about it.

4. No snow. Not that there’s much we can do about this one, but I wanted to note it anyway, since I came home to snow on Saturday.

That’s my list. For what it’s worth.

Leave a comment

Filed under Current Events, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

