An Evening Prayer

cross

I’m afraid that I don’t have anything amusing or funny to say today. I’m just not feeling it. So if you want a laugh, it’s probably best to read something else.

One of the reasons that I love being an Episcopalian is that I love the Book of  Common Prayer.  (Actually, I know many people who aren’t Episcpalian who love the Book of Common Prayer. If you don’t have one, I highly recommend getting a copy.)  I find the poetry and rhythm of the liturgies and the prayers to be comforting and uplifting. One of my favorite prayers is said at Compline (the Episcopalian name for “evening prayer service.”)  I’m not sure why, but it always makes me weep:

“Keep watch, dear Lord, with those who work, or watch, or weep this night, and give your angels charge over those who sleep. Tend the sick, Lord Christ;  give rest to the weary, bless the dying, soothe the suffering, pity the afflicted, shield the joyous; and all for your love’s sake. Amen.”

That pretty much includes everyone, in one form or another (even the joyous).

And especially for those who mourn, and for those who comfort them, I pray that you will find solace and strength in these next few days, and in the weeks and months and years to come. 

Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under On Being Episcopalian

Leave a Reply

