Precious Lord, Take My Hand

I had the difficult task today of singing for the funeral of  a 38-year-old mother of three from who died unexpectedly last Thursday.  It was a beautiful, intimate service, attended by so many people who knew her and her family.  She was a wonderful wife and mother, and a talented artist, and a bright, warm, kind, and funny person.  I’m sorry that I didn’t have the opportunity to know her better, but I’m glad that I could take part in her funeral to support her family and close friends.

I find the Episcopal funeral service to be quite moving, and this was probably the most moving one I’ve ever been to.  Paris Coffey, our rector, gave a perfect eulogy, and the whole service was a wonderful tribute to her life.

During the preparation of the table, Kathleen O’Connor and I sang “Precious Lord, Take My Hand”, written by Thomas A. Dorsey (not to be confused with Tommy Dorsey) accompanied by David Anderson, the music director of Ascension Church, Oak Park.  I had mixed feelings about taping it, but Kathleen and I don’t sing duets very often, so I decided to capture it.  For those who are interested, here’s the link:

I don’t have any wise words, or observations about any of it other than that.  There are no wise words. Just a tremendous sadness for the family she left behind, mixed with gratitude for the wonderful church family of which I am a part, and which provides tremendous support for me and my family when we need it, and for others who need it too.

4 Comments

Filed under Music, On Being Episcopalian

4 responses to “Precious Lord, Take My Hand

  1. Pegeen

    Gorgeous, Deb. I was thinking of you and the St. Christopher community today.

  2. barb g

    I was at the service for Kris. It was beautiful — and the homily by Rev Coffey was the best I have ever heard. The song you sang was perfect. God bless Alan and those beautiful children and, of course, our Kris.

    • Deborah Maue

      Thank you, Barb. I’m glad that you found comfort in the service. I’m so glad that I could be part of it.

Leave a Reply

