The return of odds and ends

It’s been a while since I’ve done an “odds and ends” post. I’ve been too busy I haven’t made time to crawl the Web for useless interesting tidbits. So here we go:

1. Wonderful, wise post from my favorite crabby ad guy, the Ad Contrarian (who listed my blog on his site last week). Having been a client for way more years than I want to admit, I can attest that everything he says in this post is absolutely true (sad but true.)

2. I’ve been thinking a lot about this wise quote I read from Lily Tomlin (whom I’ve never exactly thought of as wise, but I’m changing my thinking on that based on this quote): “Forgiveness means giving up all hope for a better past.”

It makes me think about how much time I spend regretting/resenting/other words that begin with re- things that I’ve done or others have done to me in the past.  As if all my brooding about it could change it.

3. According to A.C. Nielsen, 80% of people who sign up for Twitter send one Tweet and never send another one.  They’d better figure out a business model and fast if they’re going to be around two years from now, because they’re soon going to run out of new people willing to try it. (And then we’ll be on to the next thing saying, “We owe all of this to the brilliant people who thought up Twitter and never made a dime from it.)

4. Sometimes doing nothing is better than doing the wrong thing (especially when people are running around in a frenzy saying, “We have to do something NOW.” Jonah Goldberg on global warming plans. (Note: I’m not suggesting that global warming isn’t a problem, or that we don’t have to figure out what to do about it. I’m just saying that I don’t think we should do things that cost a bajillion dollars until we have a better sense of what the right thing to do is.)

5. And I had really grown to like Bob Sirott. (If you’re not from Chicago, don’t bother to read this, because it won’t mean anything to you.)

6. Once again, the Onion nails it. Having just been at a Museum on Friday, this made me laugh.

7.I really, really don’t want to think about David Carradine‘s death anymore.  Nope, just don’t want to think about it at all. Can some things just be private, please?

Leave a comment

Filed under Current Events

Leave a Reply

