The hardest part

The hardest part about adjusting to kindergarten is not the new routine. It’s not all the new kids and the new teacher (Ms. Weigel, whom David refers to as “Miss Waggle.”) It’s not remembering the backpack every day (although I confess that I forgot to check the backpack on Friday and therefore didn’t realize that David had homework that was due on Monday. Less than a week and I’m flunking kindergarten already. I don’t remember Emma having homework in kindergarten. But I digress.)   

No, the hardest part is having to be somewhere at 8:00. On the dot.  When the bell rings.  To be clear, it’s not that it’s 8:00. It could be 7:45 or 8:15 or 8:30.  It’s having to be somewhere AT A CERTAIN TIME.  With preschool, we could just roll in when we were ready, somewhere between 7:30-8:45.  But not so wth kindergarten. Be there at 8:00, or it goes on your Permanent Record.  Tardy.  Get a note from the office.

This morning, David had two meltdowns. First, because he couldn’t finish watching the Mickey Mouse Club, which doesn’t end until 8:00. Then, because Margaret “called” the song she wanted in the car (the first song on Bruce Springsteen/The Pete Seeger Sessions) before David did.  So by the time we got to play  David’s song (The Dixie Chicks “If I Fall You’re Going Down With Me”; his favorite song used to be “Wide Open Spaces”, but his musical tastes have deepened), we could only hear the first verse.  (Yes, okay, we live close enough to the school that we don’t even get through two songs, yet we drive instead of walk most days. What can I say…we have to be there by 8:00 on the dot.)  So he had a fit because we couldn’t sit in the car and listen to the rest of the song because The Bell was going to ring.)  

He was still screaming and crying when I left.

My friends tell me that we will be used to this by the first of October. And far be it from me to wish away time.

But is it October yet?

1 Comment

Filed under Parenting

One response to “The hardest part

  1. Jen

    I picked up M early today so I saw David at Hephzibah at snacktime. He was sitting near his friend Mitchell, and I chatted a little with the two of them. He seemed pretty happy! (Of course, there were cookies, saynomore)

    What a gorgeous and poised kid he is!

Leave a Reply

