We are the world

Today I’m going to write about something that really has no consequence whatsoever (other than from a fundraising perspective, of course.)

The remake of the We Are The World video.

Yes, it’s really cheeseball. But I got all choked up when I watched it anyway.

And then I went back and watched the original. (Thank you, YouTube.) And I liked the original so much better.  (Again, I know it’s cheeseball. I know, I know, I know. I don’t care.)

Now, there are probably several reasons why I like the original better. For one thing, I know who all the performers are.  In the new version, the only people I know are Michael Jackson, Janet Jackson, Tony Bennett and Barbra. (Yeah, that doesn’t make me feel old.)   Everyone else is an “I think”: I think that’s Pink. I think that’s Miley Cyrus. I think that’s Wyclef Jean (who sounds like Kermit the Frog. I’m sorry, but he does.)  Second, it takes me back to a time when the world seemed much less complicated. 25 years ago, I was a senior at Juniata.  (How can that be?)

But I think the main reason I liked the first one was that everyone seemed like they were having so much fun.  Even though they were singing about a terrible situation, they were joyous and hopeful. In the new version, everyone looks like they’d rather be having a root canal. The situation in Haiti is tragic, people, so let’s be serious.

So, for those who haven’t seen it, here’s the new version:

And here’s the original. (For some reason, it ends at 6:19. Don’t know why.)

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under Current Events

Leave a Reply

